Professor Steve Strogatz wrote a piece for The New Yorker titled, "Einstein's First Proof."
The AMS is Presenting A Special Session on Geometric Topology to Celebrate Jim West's 70th Birthday
Professors Martin Kassabov and Steven Strogatz have been named 2016 Fellows of the American Mathematical Society (AMS).

Future faculty Alex Townsend, currently at MIT, is the recipient of the 17th IMA Leslie Fox Prize in Numerical Analysis

Assistant professor Lionel Levine has been awarded a five-year CAREER award for his proposal "Halting Problems In Statistical Mechanics."

Assistant professor Nicolas Templier has been awarded a five-year CAREER award for his proposal "Trace formula and geometric analysis of automorphic forms."

Steven Strogatz and Danielle Toupo, Ph.D. candidate in the Center for Applied Mathematics, decided to get to the root of what happens when players switch strategies mid-game.
Congratulations to all of our 2015 graduates on their many accomplishments!
James Barnes and Cristina Benea
Mathematics Ph.D. candidates James Barnes and Cristina Benea were among the 21 faculty members and teaching assistants who were recognized by Class Councils for outstanding teaching.
Congratulations to John Guckenheimer, who has been selected to give the 2015 Jürgen Moser Lecture at the SIAM Conference on Applications of Dynamical Systems in May.