This prize is given every three years to a researcher (within six years of completing their Ph.D.) in applicable linear algebra.

We are pleased to announce that Math Matters 2017 is available online.

Congratulations to Shruthi Sridhar ’18 for being selected as Honorable Mention for the Alice T. Schafer prize of the Association for Women in Mathematics!
Professor Ed Swartz has been named a 2018 Fellow of the American Mathematical Society (AMS).

The United States’ electoral system sets up congressional contests in frequently redrawn districts. While the shapes of districts are expected to be reasonable, this is very hard to formulate in a way that is mathematically robust, aligns with our ideals about representative democracy, and can persuade legislators, judges and the public they are fair.

Our friend and colleague Roger Farrell passed away on Thursday morning, September 28, 2017. Roger's work was in the application of decision theory methods to statistical problems.

A conference and software development workshop will be held July 17-21, 2017 at the University of California, Berkeley. The first two days of the meeting will be a conference on free resolutions and commutative algebra and the rest of the time will be spent hosting a Macaulay2 workshop.

Congratulations to all of our 2017 graduates!

Clifford John Earle Jr., Professor Emeritus of Mathematics, passed away on June 12, 2017 at the age 81 at Hospicare in Ithaca. His wife Elizabeth was by his side. Cliff was a calm and thoughtful presence in the Department for over five decades.

Undergraduate senior, Vivian Kuperberg, has been recognized as a Merrill scholar by Cornell University. Approximately one percent of each year’s undergraduate senior class are selected by their college deans for their intellectual drive, leadership abilities, and potential to contribute to society. The seniors, in turn, each nominate a high school teacher and a Cornell faculty member who have been most influential in their development as students and scholars.