The Association for Women in Mathematics (AWM) and the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) have selected Éva Tardos to deliver the Sonia Kovalevsky Lecture at the 2018 SIAM Annual Meeting.

Aaron Chen '17, currently enrolled in the graduate program at the University of Chicago, has been awarded an NSF graduate fellowship.

Three out of the 40 coveted Simons Fellowships in Mathematics for 2018 have been awarded to Cornell mathematics faculty members: Professor Marcelo Aguiar, Associate Professor Lionel Levine and Professor Alex Vladimirsky.

This prize is given every three years to a researcher (within six years of completing their Ph.D.) in applicable linear algebra.

We are pleased to announce that Math Matters 2017 is available online.

Congratulations to Shruthi Sridhar ’18 for being selected as Honorable Mention for the Alice T. Schafer prize of the Association for Women in Mathematics!
Professor Ed Swartz has been named a 2018 Fellow of the American Mathematical Society (AMS).

The United States’ electoral system sets up congressional contests in frequently redrawn districts. While the shapes of districts are expected to be reasonable, this is very hard to formulate in a way that is mathematically robust, aligns with our ideals about representative democracy, and can persuade legislators, judges and the public they are fair.

Our friend and colleague Roger Farrell passed away on Thursday morning, September 28, 2017. Roger's work was in the application of decision theory methods to statistical problems.

A conference and software development workshop will be held July 17-21, 2017 at the University of California, Berkeley. The first two days of the meeting will be a conference on free resolutions and commutative algebra and the rest of the time will be spent hosting a Macaulay2 workshop.