2006–2007 News Archive

Math Awareness Month Public Lecture — April 18

Please join us on April 18th at 4:30 PM in Malott Hall's Bache Auditorium (228 Malott Hall) for a public lecture in celebration of Math Awareness Month. In keeping with the national theme Mathematics and the Brain,Psychology's David Field will give a talk about Unraveling the Knot of our Sensory Experience: How new mathematical tools are providing breakthroughs into how our nervous system senses the world. Refreshments will be served at 3:55 PM in the Mathematics Lounge (532 Malott Hall).
posted April 4, 2007

Bailey Plaza Project to Begin March 19

Work is scheduled to begin on Bailey Plaza the week of March 19th and is scheduled to be completed by September. Information on the project including maps of the project and traffic flow patterns are available at the following web sites:

Civil Engineering Projects: Bailey Plaza

Bailey Plaza Design and Plan (Office of the Provost)

Vehicle and pedestrian traffic is expected to have access from Garden Avenue to the west side of the construction area (including the Malott Hall loading dock area) throughout the construction period. Work will be done primarily Monday–Friday, between 7 AM and 3:30 P.M.
—posted March 9, 2007

Awards Presented at Department Holiday Party

On Friday, December 1st, at the department's annual holiday party, Department Chair Dan Barbasch presented the department teaching awards for 2006. Patricia Alessi and Irena Peeva received the senior faculty award — Patty for being a champion for new and interesting ways to present mathematics that draw the students into the subject and Irena for distinguished service and her clear and invigorating teaching of mathematics.

Alessandra Pantano and Luke Rogers won the junior faculty award. Alessandro won for her dedication to her craft, her clear and elegant lectures, and generous devotion to her students, and Luke for his dedication in helping students and presenting mathematical ideas in an interesting and creative manner. The teaching assistant award was given to Edoardo Carta. Edoardo's commitment to training and mentoring is an inspiration to all graduate students. This award acknowledges his ability to excite his students about mathematics and inspire them to do their best. 

Director of Graduate Studies Michael Stillman presented the Battig Prize jointly to Mia Minnes and Jay Schweig, the York Award to Artem Pulemotov, and the Hutchinson Award to Noam Horwitz and James Worthington.

Related Links: Teaching Awards | Graduate Student Awards | Holiday Party Photos
posted December 13, 2006

Ruth I. Michler Memorial Prize Established

Gerhard and Waltraud Michler of Essen, Germany, have established an endowment in the Department of Mathematics at Cornell University in memory of their daughter Ruth I. Michler. This endowment provides funding for the Ruth I. Michler Memorial Prize of the Association for Women in Mathematics for a fellowship. The awardee will spend a semester in the Mathematics Department of Cornell University without teaching obligations. We look forward to hosting the first recipient of the Michler Prize in the 2007–2008 academic year. [ About Ruth Michler ]

Details on how to apply for the award may be found at www.awm-math.org/michlerprize.html.
posted September 8, 2006

Welcome New Faculty and Graduate Students

Members of the department, spouses, children, and significant others are invited to the annual Department of Mathematics Fall Reception on Wednesday, August 30, 2006 at 4:00 PM in the 5th floor lounge of Malott Hall. New faculty and graduate students will be introduced. Light refreshments will be served by Cornell Catering.
posted August 7, 2006

Robert Moses Named Rhodes Professor

Pioneering educator Robert Moses has been named the newest Frank H.T. Rhodes Class of '56 Professor. The Harvard-trained educator, civil rights leader and founder of the Algebra Project will reside on West Campus when he visits Cornell. Visit the Cornell Chronicle for more information.
posted August 7, 2006

Gregory Lawler Awarded Pólya Prize

The Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics awarded the George Pólya Prize to Gregory Lawler, Oded Schramm of Microsoft Corporation, and Wendelin Werner of Université Paris-Sud at SIAM's Annual Meeting in Boston, July 10–14, 2006. Lawler, Schramm and Werner received the prize for their groundbreaking work on the development and application of stochastic Loewner evolution (SLE). Of particular note is the rigorous establishment of the existence and conformal invariance of critical scaling limits of a number of 2D lattice models arising in statistical physics. The Pólya Prize was awarded once before to a Cornell mathematician:  Harry Kesten in 1994. [About the Polya Prize]
posted July 25, 2006

Last modified:January 10, 2013